Grammar point: I wish…

Unknown

Dear students,

Today we’ll work on one specific grammar point: I wish…

The main use of ‘wish’ is to say that we would like things to be different from what they are, that we have regrets about the present situation.
  • I wish I was rich.
  • He wishes he lived in Paris.
Notice that the verb tense which follows ‘I wish‘ is ‘more in the past’ than the tense corresponding to its meaning. The following 3 ideas are regrets about the present situation but the main verb after wish is used in the past.
  • I wish I spoke Italian. (I don’t speak Italian)
  • I wish I had a big car. (I don’t have a big car)
  • I wish I was on a beach. (I’m in the office)
  • I wish it was the weekend. (It’s only Wednesday)
  • I’m too fat. I wish I was thin.
  • I never get invited to parties. I wish I got invited to parties.
  • It’s raining. I wish it wasn’t raining.

IMPORTANT NOTE: 

In more formal English, we use the subjunctive form ‘were’ and not ‘was’ after ‘wish’.
Posted on November 11, 2015, in Period 4. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

