Unit 1: Present simple and present continuous

Remember: Present simple is used for DAILY ACTIVITIES AND ROUTINES

  • Warm up: Daily Schedule, listening practice HERE. Weekly activities, HERE
Present continuous is used to express what is happening at the moment of speaking:
  • Song: Lemon Tree
Lemon Tree
Fool’s Garden
Listen to the song carefully and complete the blanks.
I (1)__________________ here in the boring room
It’s just another rainy Sunday afternoon
I (2)___________________me I got nothing to do
I (3)________________ around I’m a-waiting for you
But nothing ever happens – and I wonder
I (4)___________________ around in my car
I (5)__________________ too fast I’m driving too far
I’d like to change my point of view
I feel so lonely I  (6)_______________ for you
But nothing ever happens – and I wonder
I wonder how I wonder why
Yesterday you told me ’bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see is just a yellow Lemon tree
I’m turning my head up and down I (7)_______________
  turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just another Lemon tree
Dab- da da da da- dee dab da-
da da da da-dee dab da-
dab deb dee da
I (8)____________________here I miss the power
I’d (9) _____________________ to go out taking a shower
But there’s a heavy cloud inside my head
I feel so tired put myself into bed
Well, nothing ever happens – and i wonder
Isolation – is not good for me
Isolation – I don’t(10)___________ to sit on a lemon tree
I (11)________________around in the desert of joy
Baby anyhow I’ll get another toy
And everything will happen – and you’ll wonder
I wonder how I wonder why
Yesterday you (12) ___________  me ’bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can (13) ___________ is just another Lemon tree
I (14)__________________ my head up and down
I’m turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just a yellow Lemon tree
And I wonder wonder
I wonder how I wonder why
Yesterday you told me ’bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see
And all that I can see
And all that I can see
is just a yellow Lemon tree
Sit          waste          hang          drive           tell         like       want           see          turn            wait         step
AUDIO, CLICK HERE

 

 

Posted on March 10, 2014, in Period 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

